Logo VDP Traubenadler

RIESLING

RIESLING

THE MOST FAMOUS GERMAN WHITE WINE

Riesling is the best known and most important German white wine variety. Just like the Pinot Noir, Riesling prefers the cooler climatic wine-growing regions (Cool Climate Wine Regions). It feels particularly at home on the barren steep slopes along the river valleys. The heat-storing slate soils offer optimal conditions for this slowly ripening grape variety, whose characteristic feature is its fruity acidity.

The Riesling has its origin in the Rheingau, where the Carolingian King Ludwig the German (843-876) probably had it cultivated for the first time. The noble grape variety is said to have spread from here to the German wine-growing regions at the end of the Middle Age. In 1775 the Spätlese was discovered in the Rheingau, at the former Johannisberg monastery.

In the Rheingau region, Riesling now accounts for almost 80 percent of the area under cultivation. Depending on the location and soil type, white wines of different nuances are produced from this terroir-influenced grape variety, which have enormous potential and an immense longevity in ripening.

"OUR RIESLINGS ARE ALL ABOUT THE DRINKING FLOW."
Wine cellar stainless steel tanks tank sample Riesling

Riesling must never be muscular and broad-shouldered, but must - regardless of the alcohol content - always be fine, refreshing, crystal clear and light on the palate. With Riesling, the flow of the drink is the most important thing for us. "But "drinking flow" does not mean "shallowness".

And this is what our base Riesling "The Daily August" and our village wines do as well as our wines from the First and Great sites. Filigree and with profound complexity, they reflect the terroir of their vineyards. They always enjoy a long fine yeast storage in stainless steel tanks and thus bring with them a high ripening potential. Further details and descriptions of our various Rieslings can be found in our online shop.

Wine cellar Riesling bottle and wine glas
Wine cellar stainless steel tanks

Logo VDP Traubenadler

RIESLING

RIESLING

DER BEKANNTESTE DEUTSCHE WEISSWEIN

Riesling ist die bekannteste und zugleich wichtigste deutsche Weißweinsorte. Genauso wie der Pinot Noir (Spätburgunder) bevorzugt der Riesling die klimatisch kühleren Weinbauregionen (Cool Climate Wine Regions). An den kargen Steillagen entlang der Flusstäler fühlt er sich besonders wohl. Die wärmespeichernden Schieferböden bieten optimale Bedingungen für diese langsam reifende Rebsorte, deren charakteristisches Merkmale die fruchtige Säure ist. 

Seinen Ursprung hat der Riesling im Rheingau, wo ihn der Karolinger König Ludwig der Deutsche 843-876 vermutlich erstmals anbauen ließ. Von hier aus soll sich die edle Rebsorte am Ende des Mittelalters in die deutschen Weinbauregionen verbreitet haben. Im Jahr 1775 wurde im Rheingau, am damaligen Kloster Johannisberg, zudem die Spätlese entdeckt

Bei uns im Rheingau nimmt der Riesling heute fast 80 Prozent der Anbaufläche ein. Je nach Lage und Standort entstehen aus dieser Terroir geprägten Rebsorte Weißweine unterschiedlicher Nuancen, die in der Reife ein ungeheures Potenzial und eine immense Langlebigkeit haben.

„BEI UNSEREN RIESLINGEN STEHT DER TRINKFLUSS IM VORDERGRUND.“
Weinkeller Edelstahltanks Tankprobe Riesling

Riesling darf nie muskulös und breitschultrig sein, sondern muss - unabhängig vom Alkoholgehalt - stets fein, erfrischend, kristallklar und leicht über den Gaumen fließen. Beim Riesling steht für uns vor allem der Trinkfluss im Vordergrund. „Trinkfluss“ bedeutet aber keinesfalls „Seichtigkeit“.

Und das tun unser Basis-Riesling „The Daily August“ und unsere Ortsweine genauso wie unsere Weine aus Ersten und Großen Lagen. Filigran und mit tiefgründiger Vielschichtigkeit spiegeln sie das Terroir ihrer Lagen wider. Sie genießen stets ein langes Feinhefelager im Edelstahltank und bringen so ein hohes Reifepotenzial mit sich. Weitere Details und Beschreibungen zu unseren verschiedenen Rieslingen finden Sie in unserem Onlineshop.

Weinkeller Riesling Weinflasche Weinglas
Weinkeller Edelstahltanks