Logo VDP Traubenadler

PINOT NOIR

PINOT NOIR (SPÄTBURGUNDER)

THE KING OF RED WINES

One thing to start with: Pinot Noir and Spätburgunder is one and the same grape variety. One is the international and the other the German name for a grape variety that is often referred to as the "King of Red Wines". This is mainly due to the fact that this grape variety thrives predominantly in cooler wine-growing regions (cool climate wine regions) and is particularly demanding in cultivation and winemaking. The red wine variety has its origin in Burgundy, but also here in the Rheingau and especially around Assmannshausen, it produces very complex, filigree and excellent wines, which can compete with the best Burgundies worldwide.

HOW ARE BIG PINOT NOIRS CREATED?

You have to live Pinot Noir in order to be rewarded with outstanding results. This means that you have to be prepared to go through thick and thin every year with this diva (as we like to call her) and patiently endure her sensitivity and caprice from cultivation to the bottle. She must be met with calmness, but also with passion and the highest demands. It determines the path along which she may be accompanied in order to make the right decision for her at the right time.

HOW DO BIG PINOT NOIRS DEFINE THEMSELVES?

Big Pinots are defined above all by three things: fruit, elegance and balance. Added to this are distinctiveness, finesse and precision, supported by new wood - but never more than 30 percent! Like the background of an old master painting, it should gently shine through in order to accentuate the structure of the wine, but must not under any circumstances impair the radiance of the fruit. If this background is only a trace too dominant, the Pinot Noir will never be able to ignore it in its finesse. And it is precisely in the finesse that all the charm of this great grape variety lies.

Pinot Noir grape vines

OUR PIN0T NOIRS

Already our Pinot Noir The Daily August shows the finesse of this grape variety incredibly well. From the Pinot Noir to our Cuvée Max to the large sites of the Assmannshäuser Höllenberg or the Rüdesheimer Schlossberg, they all show the radiance of the fruit and the finesse of the grape variety - the real appeal of the Pinot Noir. After the classic maceration, all wines are put into barriques to develop. Further details and descriptions of our various Pinot Noirs can be found in our online shop.

Wine cellar Pinot Noir bottle wine glas
"OUR PINOT NOIRS ALWAYS HAVE A DELICATE FEMININE, YES, ALMOST EROTIC CHARACTER THEY FLOW LIKE COOL SILK OVER TENDER SKIN."
Pinot Noir red wine mash

Logo VDP Traubenadler

PINOT NOIR

PINOT NOIR (SPÄTBURGUNDER)

DER KÖNIG DER ROTWEINE

Eines kurz vorweg: Pinot Noir und Spätburgunder sind ein und dieselbe Rebsorte. Das eine ist die internationale und das andere die deutsche Bezeichnung einer Rebsorte, die gerne als „König der Rotweine“ bezeichnet wird. Das liegt vor allem daran, dass diese Rebsorte überwiegend in kühleren Weinbauregionen (cool climate wine regions) gedeiht und besonders anspruchsvoll im An- und Ausbau ist. Ihren Ursprung hat die Rotweinsorte im Burgund aber auch hier im Rheingau und besonders um Assmannshausen entstehen aus ihr sehr vielschichtige, filigrane und ausgezeichnete Weine, die sich mit den besten Burgundern weltweit messen können.

WIE ENTSTEHEN GROSSE PINOT NOIRS?

Pinot Noir muss man leben, um mit herausragenden Ergebnissen belohnt zu werden. Das heißt man muss bereit sein, in jedem Jahr mit dieser Diva (wie wir sie gerne nennen) durch dick und dünn zu gehen, und ihre Sensibilität und Launenhaftigkeit vom Anbau bis in die Flasche geduldig ertragen. Man muss ihr mit Ruhe, aber auch mit Passion und mit den allerhöchsten Ansprüchen begegnen. Sie bestimmt den Weg, auf dem man sie begleiten darf, um zum richtigen Zeitpunkt die richtige Entscheidung für sie zu treffen.

Wie definieren sich große Pinot Noirs?

Große Pinots definieren sich vor allem über drei Dinge: Frucht, Eleganz, Balance. Hinzu kommen Distinguiertheit, Finesse und Präzision, unterstützt durchaus von neuem Holz - jedoch niemals über 30 Prozent! Es soll wie die Untermalung eines altmeisterlichen Gemäldes sanft durchscheinen, um die Struktur des Weines zu akzentuieren, darf aber keinesfalls die Strahlkraft der Frucht beeinträchtigen. Ist diese Untermalung nur eine Spur zu dominant, wird sich der Pinot Noir in seiner Feingliedrigkeit niemals darüber hinwegsetzten können. Und gerade in der Feingliedrigkeit liegt der ganze Reiz dieser großen Rebsorte.

Weintrauben Pinot Noir Rebstock

UNSERE PIN0T NOIRS

Bereits unser Pinot Noir The Daily August stellt die Finesse dieser Rebsorte unglaublich gut dar. Vom Pinot Noir über unseren Cuvée Max bis hin zu den Großen Lagen des Assmannshäuser Höllenberges oder des Rüdesheimer Schlossberges zeigen sie alle die Strahlkraft der Frucht und die Feingliedrigkeit der Rebsorte – den eigentlichen Reiz des Pinot Noirs. Nach der klassischen Maischegärung kommen alle Weine ins Barrique, um sich zu entwickeln. Weitere Details und Beschreibungen zu unseren verschiedenen Pinot Noirs finden Sie in unserem Onlineshop.

Weinkeller Pinot Noir Weinflasche Weinglas
​„UNSERE PINOT NOIRS HABEN STETS EINEN GRAZILEN FEMININEN, JA, GERADEZU EROTISCHEN CHARAKTER SIE FLIESSEN WIE KÜHLE SEIDE ÜBER ZARTE HAUT.“
Rotweinmaische